Broken Pieces

A Poem

Connie Song
Loose Words
1 min readJun 24, 2020

--

Photo by Joanna Kosinska on Unsplash

You were my north star,
My shining light,
A knight in armor,
Come to my rescue,
As you found me drowning,
in a sea of despair.

I soon realized that your touch became my addiction,
but all the king’s horses and all the king’s meds
would not be able to make me whole again.

I had half a soul,
Half a mind to break you,
expose you,
depose you,
to haunt you,
to ghost you.

The mirror, a reflection,
of a spirit shattered,
a moment of insanity,
dust beams of light,
red-streaked wrists,
I was the reason
for my addiction.

I blamed you,
an oasis,
a savior,
a breakthrough,
and watched, broken, as you walked out the door.

© Connie Song 2020

--

--

Connie Song
Loose Words

Reader | Writer | Poet | Medium Top Writer | Twitter Connie Song 10.