clock-hours

the pause between knowing what you’re doing and not

Deb Ewing
Loose Words
Feb 21, 2021

--

photo by debora Ewing

some days it occurs to me
how many poems have been lost
in how many lifetimes
ill-conceived plots
wild passes
dreams that looked so very real

words dash off the nib onto paper
and the paper falls to the floor
trod upon in the tumult
of staying afloat

priorities can spin on a pinhead

suddenly I realise
all my words have already been written
giving them that much less impact
this page feels like such a waste

words self-seed
come back in the new season taller
more vigorous branches
facing the new sun

there’s always next year

If you enjoyed this piece, you may like:

--

--

Deb Ewing
Loose Words

I am a U.S. writer, artist, and oracle. I drop my wisdom like a crystal bowl at your feet. See my art at: https://www.americanframe.com/artist/debora-ewing.aspx