for Julio

Deb Ewing
Loose Words
Published in
Oct 24, 2020

this is what you showed me

French Quarter, photo by debora Ewing

just a dream
can shake me like this
a monster psyche-risen

says I was duplicitous
calls me betrayer
assures me no one will save me

this time
the demon says
there’s no salvation

you didn’t remember
to trade for favors

there’s nothing to call in

I woke, fight-or-flight enabled
unsure whom I’ve crossed
and whence I should run

I realize I am the monster
better to stay hidden
behind my bunker of dirt

best not show my mask
to those who wear compassion
comfortably

who don’t understand
how easily you would have
made them a mark

If you enjoyed this piece, you may appreciate:

--

--

Deb Ewing
Loose Words

I am a U.S. writer, artist, and oracle. I drop my wisdom like a crystal bowl at your feet. See my art at: https://www.americanframe.com/artist/debora-ewing.aspx