Give It Everything

What would it look like if you gave your all?

Victoria Antonelli
Loose Words
Nov 3, 2020

--

Photo by Samuel Girven on Unsplash

Every day I’m pushing against
A wall of No and Not Right Now
My hands curled into fists
Banging against impenetrable glass

Every night I clean my barrier
With Windex and polish, practicing
Patience and perseverance, holding
Onto dreams of others as proof

But my politeness dissipates under
The thin crack beneath the door
As I smell the success of others and
Am filled with uncontrollable rage

I lower my shoulder into the door
Feeling each thud as it reverberates
Through my limbs, now numb as
My eyes brim with tears

Suddenly I’m on the other side
I stare in awe at my heroes and
Heroines as they smile back, saying
“Now, we believe you. Welcome home.”

--

--