Life Inside The Box

A Poem

Jonathan Greene
Loose Words

--

Photo by Christian Ladewig on Unsplash

I’ve always been an outside-of-the-box thinker,
one that invents new ways of doing old things
because the stench of those languid mechanisms
are confusing and unworldly to a person like me

But I prefer to live life inside of the box
because it’s safer in here, this glass bubble
holding my air, my things, and my emotions
so no one can try to commingle them

Life inside the box is exceptionally calm
because no one can adjust the temperature
or change any of my channels of interest
or disrupt this flow state that I am always in

But I will say it’s a bit static and flatlined in here
Some might even call it overwhelmingly boring
compared to their skydiving and parties with people
overflowing with an abundance of personal freedom

I sometimes try to live outside of the box,
but I always come back to a simple fact
My environment is critical to my happiness
and my home is inside this box

© Jonathan Greene 2024

If you liked this, you might like this as well:

--

--

Jonathan Greene
Loose Words

Father, podcast host, poet, writer, real estate investor/team leader, certified life coach. Curating a meaningful life. IG: trustgreene | trustgreene.com