Ode to Adore

A romantic poem

Paul Corbeil
Loose Words
2 min readJan 27, 2021

--

Photograph by Paul Corbeil

Adore
A word that says so much
this poem decrypts
the very cipher of the word

Adoring isn’t only about you
I’ll adore a myriad of other things
The quirks and the quick that make you, well you
like our coffee cheers in the morning
before the day’s weight settles on your shoulders
I adore the peace I see

I’ll adore
those troubled eyes
when evil comes round your door
in these times I’ll hold on
press you hard against my chest
sheltered from harm
as safe as one can make another

I watch you give
then give some more
you keep on giving ’til you have no more
after your heart is empty
after you’ve been worn down
and you find the solitary space
to read and rest and recharge your soul
I’ll adore you through that closed door
until you’re ready to be loved again

I know
in time you’ll come back around
on this night a kiss heralds your return
you lead me to our beloved lake’s edge
we revel in the majesty of Sirius and Venus and Mars
then we laugh like the teenagers we pretend we are
I adore feeling young again

Your galaxy shines
a firmament that brims with points of light
it will take my whole lifetime to experience them all
I’m up to the task
my adoration not a transient thing

So the next time I say adore
know it’s not simply you the person

But much, much more

--

--

Paul Corbeil
Loose Words

Poet. Storyteller. Lover of Art. Writing to make you feel. I will use the poetic form that best suits the mood. Twitter @Loverdesart