papa

I doubt this legacy

Deb Ewing
Loose Words
Nov 3, 2020

--

Adams Morgan street art, Washington DC, photo by debora Ewing

I want to be your good girl
I want you to love me I want
to believe in the land of the free
and the home of the brave

you hold me and the boys run
ahead this kitchen isn’t safe yet
girl mend the tears you said
this doesn’t feel like love

Papa why you tell me
he doesn’t belong here
with his brown skin but
his labor was good enough

blind but to the Word
your ears are deaf but
for the clink of change that
sound isn’t what you think

Your ancestors played the bodhran
too and planted fields did you
dig ditches get greasy ‘til
we’re all dirty outside too

I hear music in Congo
Mongolia Patagonia I see
the sky and sew it up lay down
in your grave Papa keep

the skin you made for me
everything is your fault

If you appreciated this piece, you may enjoy:

--

--

Deb Ewing
Loose Words

I am a U.S. writer, artist, and oracle. I drop my wisdom like a crystal bowl at your feet. See my art at: https://www.americanframe.com/artist/debora-ewing.aspx