paper boats

Deb Ewing
Loose Words
Published in
1 min readOct 10, 2020
Photo by Aidan Cheung on Unsplash

precepts have fallen
slow they spiral like errant feathers
dipping gently into rainbow
rippled oil-slick puddles
mad motor spit
into water huddled
where the asphalt sank
and everyone who said it all mattered
doesn’t even
see
I’m floating away

bereft of syllables
I push grass and gravel back
into my foxhole
that emptiness is too familiar
I don’t want it
devoid of unspoken
exchange of quantum
aspiration
I return
to my poorly-filled den
seep gasoline between silt and root
and
set it on fire.

If you enjoyed this piece, you may appreciate:

--

--

Deb Ewing
Loose Words

I am a U.S. writer, artist, and oracle. I drop my wisdom like a crystal bowl at your feet. See my art at: https://www.americanframe.com/artist/debora-ewing.aspx