The Eloquence of the Night

Poetry

Connie Song
Loose Words
Sep 4, 2022

--

Illustration credit Tetiana Garkusha on iStock paid subscription

Life bites with fangs exposed
though I am submerged in the eloquence of the night
paper creased, pen in hand, time passing like grains of sand,
from sandcastles you destroyed
with me trying to lose my anxieties floating into the bottomless void
hidden in a weighted body bag that drifts to desolate drydock

Life digs in its claws
my fears return
my insecurities lie naked and raw
unable to rest
pillows billowed, comforters fail to comfort me
I am blanketed in sweat, in dread

I would toss my preoccupations to the wind
seeking shade from the oak that withstands the storms
and the trauma that pulls me under
into a place I cannot fathom
in my wildest dreams
I swim towards the silken shore

© Connie Song 2022. All Rights Reserved.

--

--

Connie Song
Loose Words

Reader | Writer | Poet | Medium Top Writer | Twitter Connie Song 10.