The First Time I Felt You Kick

A poem for expecting mamas

Megan Minutillo
Loose Words

--

Photo by Heather Mount on Unsplash

The first time I
felt you kick
was when we
were sitting on the couch
watching television.

My feet were up,
and I was sipping tea,
and your daddy was sitting
right next to me.

It was sudden,
and it was quick,
and it seemed like something
out of a dream.

It was as if a tiny bolt
of lighting
had not only pierced
my belly,
but a bit of my heart,
too.

I told your daddy what
I felt,
but at the time
he couldn’t quite feel it,
too.

At the time,
it was just me,
and it was just
you.

And so,
we went back to watching tv,
and sipping our tea,
and wondering who you will be,
and what you will do.

We hope for your health
and your happiness,
and that you
wake up every day,
grateful to be here.

For we are
forever grateful
for you,
our tiny lightning bolt.

--

--

Megan Minutillo
Loose Words

Essayist, poet, and theatre producer. I write stories about self-awareness, IVF, and finding your footing in life’s messy moments. Instagram: @meganminutillo.