The Molecular Structure of Love

Poetry

Connie Song
Loose Words
2 min readMar 13, 2024

--

‘‘Tis better to have loved and lost / Than never to have loved at all.
— Alfred Lord Tennyson

Who knows what the future brings?
I have floated blissfully like a buoyant, untangled feather.
Waltzed through thresholds
and walked through rings of fire.
I have feasted on dreams and burnt toast.
Searched social apps and galaxies
looking for vibrations and resonating connections
that lurk just beyond my wandering fingertips.
I have trusted my instincts.
Questioned my motives.
I have studied the molecular structure of love
to no avail.

Who knows what love looks like?
You and I, we would meet in the west village,
sometimes, on the dark side of the moon.
Love permeated and perforated the lamp posts,
the sewers and the indented metal manhole covers.
Love would find a way to infiltrate my heart.
And once, I thought,
love was all that really mattered
and if my whole world shattered,
it would still survive if only
I had something real to cling on to.

What happened to us?
Are we broken pieces of glass?
We were the moon and the stars.
Meddlesome life ran interference,
or maybe it was destiny,
with its red flags and stop signs
trying to whisper lessons along the way.
If only I had listened.
Or is it that life is short and love is blind?
Is that the anatomy of love?

Dear reader: I was inspired to write about some of my love experiences, while watching the movie, Damsel, which indirectly explores aspects of different types of love and relationships. Is love a battlefield, like the Pat Benatar song? Or is there a higher love? I would love to hear your thoughts.

© Connie Song 2024. All Rights Reserved.

--

--

Connie Song
Loose Words

Reader | Writer | Poet | Medium Top Writer | Editor of Purple Ink | Coffee Fanatic | Twitter Connie Song 10.