The Upside of Sickness

A necessary purge

Victoria Antonelli
Loose Words
1 min readNov 20, 2023

--

On that early spring day
When you barely said goodbye
I fled for the final time
Down the dilapidated porch
As it cried for me
Knowing I was the last one
Who cared

I drove till the sunlight faded
On my tail lights, dropping
Below the cold ground
I felt a shiver run through
What was left of you
On my skin

I coughed you out of my
Throat chakra
And felt my laughter
Come to life
As my body purged
A sickness that wasn’t mine

Now I am back on the land where
Things were supposed to change
Where my hope slowly drained.
But in this new healing phase
Another layer of you
Drips out of me

As they say,
“More will be revealed”
And I’m excited for the first time
In a while
As my body continues to release.
To open
To receive
A brilliant, shiny, delicious
Victoria.

--

--