The Woman I’m Becoming

Maturity in solitude

Victoria Antonelli
Loose Words
Dec 13, 2021

--

Photo by Denys Nevozhai on Unsplash

You promise something better
With your dark eyes and clean smile
Facing open toward me
Pulling me into receiving

My learned reaction says
Run and hide, but like a magnet
I am sucked inside
Meeting your gaze

The brief thrill ends and
I step out the door
Met with harsh wind, stinging my skin
Feet firmly on the pavement

Reality weighs me down
Heavy on my shoulders:
The life I chose and continue to choose
The woman I’m becoming

The high from someone new
No longer hitting the same
I am here for the ups and downs
I am here to stay

It’s time to grow up, a voice whispers
It’s time to move forward
I have passed the universe’s test
Now, I find happiness in solitude

--

--