This Heart of Mine

An inventory of my heart.

Kiera Sona
Loose Words
1 min readJun 10, 2020

--

Pink Ewa Beach Sunset — Oahu Hawaii by Brian Harig

This heart of mine is composed of many things.

Vessels, arteries, and chambers for starters,

but in addition,

Scotch tape, staples, paper clips amongst other reconstructive tools for each time I thought I was past the point of repair but wasn't quite yet.

Ink smudges and graphite markings for every word I stowed away in fear.

An assortment of mouse-sized holes for each time someone snuck out of my life.

A file cabinet filled with aspirations not yet actualized.

Photo albums with the faces of those I've loved,

and open frames for those I have yet to.

Sunrays from each summer sunset that once graced my skin now eternally glow; shedding light on even the darkest of places.

A bookshelf containing all the books that ever made me feel something.

A cassette deck with a mixtape of every song that ever gave me goosebumps.

A fridge full of the foods that are good for the soul but terrible for the body.

This heart of mine is ever-growing,

ever-learning,

ever-loving.

--

--