Underneath

A Poem

Jonathan Greene
Loose Words

--

Photo by Nathan Kelly on Unsplash

Most days, I would rather stay
underneath my covers
and in the warm glow
of errant sunlight strands
that invade my bedroom
like a welcome visitor

It’s underneath the bridge
that I can look up and
understand construction
as a foundational landscape
for time, space, and motion
as the world goes ‘round

Underneath the umbrella
is where I can part-soak
because it never fully covers
the embodiment of me
from the singular raindrops
that pour themselves down

Sometimes, I still wish
that I was underneath you
as you lay atop me
like a warm blanket
on a cool Fall day
with the breeze upon us

The reason I like being
in this position so much
is because I don’t want
to stand above everyone
and get idly noticed
like an hourglass

© Jonathan Greene 2024

If you liked this, you might like this as well:

--

--

Jonathan Greene
Loose Words

Father, podcast host, poet, writer, real estate investor/team leader, certified life coach. Curating a meaningful life. IG: trustgreene | trustgreene.com