Unloving Is An Art

Free Verse

Kush Dubey
Loose Words
1 min readDec 27, 2020

--

Photo by Steve Johnson on Unsplash

The epiphenomenon of perpetual love,
On the face of the absence bestowed,
Bringing an irretrievable emptiness,
Grappling with impermanence around;

And those transcendental manifestations,
From our numb toes to my cold feet,
From fertile lips to fallow,
From prolonged stares, to glances;

I lie down in my existential void,
Stitched with your memories,
Beholding me, besieging me,
I can't love, I can't unlove,
I can't move, I can't stay;

Just prolonged stares in the vacuum,
Prevailing monologues,
Perpetual hopes;
And unheeded reins to stop,
For summer awaits me;

What can I say about unlove,
When love is in denial,
What about death,
When millions met before,
What about going,
When I'm walking in myself;

To come out in being,
I measure the depths of my love,
Every day but once,
To make sure it grows,
But not in my emptiness,
Not in my voids;

--

--

Kush Dubey
Loose Words

With all full head, We speak so little. I say a poem.