Unzipped

Poetry

Connie Song
Loose Words
Jul 1, 2024

--

Photo by Camila Damásio on Unsplash

Tonight, my eyes unzipped the sky
tasting dreams that turned to stone.
And there you were.

A laminated E Z pass.
An indelible tat
on my rearview glass.
A dilettante
a Rorschach blotch
of spilled ink
that forever soothed
and scarred
my soul.
And just like that
you were gone.
A crapshoot.
A blade of grass.
An ounce of dust
filled with nihilists and Socratic thought
and Jameson shots
of desperation
and hope.

Tonight, the sky unzipped my heart
and under all the stacks of trash
under all the piles of cash
between the titans who fight and clash,
there you were.
And I want you back.

© Connie Song 2024. All Rights Reserved.

--

--

Connie Song
Loose Words

Reader | Writer | Poet | Medium Top Writer | Editor of Purple Ink | Coffee Fanatic | Twitter Connie Song 10.