Lo sustancial: “Life of Pi” de Yann Martel

[primera parte]

miguel rom
sustanciales
2 min readOct 5, 2015

--

Este libro llegó a mis manos como regalo de cumpleaños por parte de Iliana, en el año 2013. Después de haber visto la película del mismo libro. Aquí el resultado de mi mala costumbre de subrayar los libros. Las frases que me impactaron , que tuvieron un sentido para mi.

“Life is so beautiful that death has fallen in love with it, a jealous, possesive love that grabs at what it can.”

“A house is a compressed territory where our basic needs can be fulfilled close by any safely”

“The obsession with putting ourselves at the centre of everything is the bane not only of theologians but also of zoologists”

“Hindus, in their capacity of love, are indeed hairless Christians, just as Muslims, in the way the see God in everything are bearded Hindus, and Christians, in their devotion to God, are hat-wearing Muslims”

“The presence of God is the finest of rewards”

“Nil magnum nisi bonum”

“Things floated in the water but none that brought me hope”

“What do you know about the sea? Nothing. What do I know about the sea? Nothing.”

“To lose a brother is to lose someone with whom you can share the experience of growing old, who is supposed to bring you a sister-in-law and nieces and nephews, creatures to people the tree of your life and give it new branches. To lose your father is to lose the one whose guideance and help you seek, who supports you like a tree trunk supports its branches. To lose your mother, well, that is like losing the sun above you.”

“to leave the lifeboat meant certain death. But what was staying aboard?”

“I will not die. I refuse to it. I will make it through this nightmare. I will beat the odds, as great as they are. I have survived so far, miraculously. Now I will turn miracle into routine. Tha amazing will be seen every day. I will put in all the hard work necessary. Yes, so long as God is with me, I will not die. Amen.”

--

--

miguel rom
sustanciales

unlugar . #ciudaddesdetodos . innovacción . #disrotativ