Personal Drawing Journal Project September 2016

Mac Kozal
3 min readOct 1, 2016

--

Last year I’ve read a fantastic book (http://alledaags.bigcartel.com/product/alledaags-a-year-in-amsterdam-paperback) by Toby Morris @XTOTL. It’s called “Alledaags” and it is basiclly the one-year comic book style journal, where every drawing is dedicated to the single day.

“Alledaags” by Toby Morris

Toby drew this when he was living in Amsterdam, the Netherlands. When I moved to Amsterdam and bought that book I found tons of similarities between what happened to the author and my experience. We both had a problem with jammed door to the apartment, saw tourists that took a photo of our building, saw an excentric guy who roll-skates in the early morning in g-string pants and swimming cap and a lot more.
I decided to do the similar personal project at least for one month. I wanted to make a drawing every couple of days that somehow summarize it. I’m far behind from being a professional illustrator, but I wanted to try and make my sketching skills better. Here there are results from September.

Have you liked it? Should I continue this project for next month? Please, click the button under the text so other people will see this in their recomendations on Medium.

--

--

Mac Kozal

I am a UX/Product Designer. I graduated as an architect and I combine the processes of those two specialties in my daily routine. https://mackozal.com