Buy the ticket, take the ride

Olivia Poglianich
Lost With Liv
Published in
1 min readMay 12, 2017

“Buy the ticket, take the ride.” — Hunter S. Thompson

[gallery columns=”2" size=”full” ids=”941,964,965,920"]

Have you ever fallen in love with a quote the first time you heard it? But can’t quite put your finger on when or where you were at the time?

“Buy the ticket, take the ride” was that quote for me.

I quickly looked up the guy who said this quote, Hunter S. Thompson. He was well known for Gonzo Journalism back in the 1950’s. It was a style which blurred the distinctions between writer and subject, fiction and non-fiction. It’s exactly what I like to do/write as well.

It’s simple, straight forward, and speaks in some ways to my favorite idea of embracing the journey. Figure it out and just go.

--

--

Olivia Poglianich
Lost With Liv

Native New Yorker. @Cornell Alum. Wanderlust. Street Art Enthusiast. Join me in my banter about strategy/travel @livpoglianich. Ex McCann, BBDO, Interbrand, Y&R