Not all who are lost need to be found

Olivia Poglianich
Lost With Liv
Published in
2 min readDec 6, 2018

--

Not all who are lost need to be found. In fact, most of those who are “lost” probably intend to be that way. We seek to disconnect from social media. We retreat into the woods for a week to re-connect with nature on a campsite. We go on yoga retreats to clear our minds.

In my case, I take this quote to be a nod to independence and going against the grain. It’s for people who stray from that path that society has pre-determined for them, be it intentionally or not. Long term or not.

It’s taking a GAP year or two or three. It’s quitting your high paying desk job to pursue a passion of yours, perhaps at a scrappy start-up or volunteering at an NGO.

I quite like this quote, and it’s more famous cousin, Not All Those Who Wander Are Lost, by J.R.R. Tolkien. They almost sound like opposites, but I actually think they have very similar meanings.

It doesn’t have to be big, though. It can be about getting lost in the moment, taking in a breathtaking sunset or enjoying a hearty chuckle with new pals.

What does this quote mean to you? I’d love to hear it.

❤ Liv

--

--

Olivia Poglianich
Lost With Liv

Native New Yorker. @Cornell Alum. Wanderlust. Street Art Enthusiast. Join me in my banter about strategy/travel @livpoglianich. Ex McCann, BBDO, Interbrand, Y&R