We are pivoting

Michael Mather
Dharmaholic
2 min readMay 31, 2023

--

G’day, Most Loyal Reader,

Yesterday, I had a mini-stroke, or something.

Nah. For some time, I have been writing about how Buddhism has played a huge role in the journey from rotten drunk to spritely 60-year-old peace monger.

The revelation came to me that despite my avarice for alcohol and the vivacity of my verse, all of my efforts were being slowed by a lack of coherence.

So, all the things I do from now on will have the banner of Dharmaholic.

No more ‘Lotus Room’ to ruminate in.

The Third Age’ is no longer… grow up!

And as far as I know, ‘Happy, Sober, and Frickin Awesome’ is no longer a thing that you can plug in your ear and get horny about.

The place to get your Mike Mather fix can remain.

I will publish in Medium, albeit with a new banner. The Third Age newsletter (now called Dharmaholic) will be sent from Substack HQ every Sunday and has a paid version for those who wish to support the growing community.

YouTube is here. Instagram here. Facebook here. Twitter here.

And Dharmaholic.com is still home.

The beginning of a new epoch is now. With clearer focus and greater support from other sober Buddhisty folk, we will attempt to rebuild the tower of Babel. This one will have better foundations and we’ll all try to speak the same language (Oh, my poor Christian Dad will be turning somersaults in his grave).

Thank you for reading thus far. As they say in the break between the movies, “You ain’t seen nothing yet”.

love alwaz
mike

--

--

Michael Mather
Dharmaholic

Enjoys Buddhism and sober alcoholics.. Top Writer in Mental Health. https://mikemather.me