This Is Why Social Media Is So Harmful

4 good reasons to spend less time there

Louis Petrik
Louis’ Blog

--

I thought I had greatly reduced my daily social media consumption.

But according to the screen time function of my iPhone, on average, I am still spending 26 minutes a day just on Instagram.

I know, for many people out there, it would be very little overall, but I still find it sad. 26 minutes for what? To see food, unrealistically attractive people, and memes?

I really should use less social media, and I think it’s a good idea for all of us. An exciting book about this topic is Ten Arguments for Deleting Your Social Media Accounts Right Now by Jaron Lanier.

Lanier’s book discusses the various reasons to delete your own social media accounts or change your own consumption.

This article offers some good reasons to think more critically about digital media. The book mentioned serves as a source for this.

In the end, you will find a few tips from me on how to I am effectively reducing my social media usage.

It Is Fun, but Also Addictive

Push notifications, algorithm suggestions & posts that are no longer accessible after 24 hours — everyone should be aware that social media benefit from our use…

--

--