Voices from the Field: Executive Fellows

By: Joshua Watkins

Riddle me this, have you ever felt like…

  1. You have great ideas and want an opportunity to share them?
  2. You want to gain more experience working cross functionally?
  3. You’re stuck professionally and believe there is more out there?
  4. Why not me?

Then you most definitely should consider being an Executive Fellow! I know it’s a pretty bold statement, but given my personal experience with the program, I am a firm believer. My name is Joshua Watkins, member of Executive Fellows Cohort 3 and lifelong champion of “small victories”. I have been with Metro Government for four years and my last year participating in the fellows program and the experience has been life changing. As someone who prides themselves on pursuing opportunities, I can say that I was beginning to believe my time in Metro was coming to an end. I genuinely felt like I had accomplished everything I could do in my current role and I wasn’t being challenged. Metaphorically, I couldn’t see the light at the end of the Metro tunnel and that began to weigh heavily on me.

The Executive Fellows meet monthly in the LouieLab.

I knew that I needed a “small victory”, something to become a milestone on my journey to professional advancement. I heard about Executive Fellows and luckily there was an upcoming opportunity to participate. I consulted with my leadership, received the necessary recommendations and the rest is history! I’ve been so fortunate to grow with six like minded individuals from different parts of Metro. They have challenged me, laughed with me and collectively we have served our community together. The books we’ve read have given me tools to utilize at work, the professional development has given me new vigor and enthusiasm and the relationships I’ve forged will stay with me for years to come.

So, don’t take my word for it alone, you should try it out… I’m quite certain you won’t regret it!

Editorial note: The Executive Fellows application period will open later this spring. Contact Kaci Grant (kaci.grant@louisvilleky.gov) for more information.

--

--

Louisville Metro CIT
Improve and Innovate — Louisville Metro

Account for Louisville Metro Government's Office of Civic Innovation and Technology. Louisville, KY