Tisha Campbell — My Husband Made Me Sing Again

Gail Nobles_The InkPost
Lounge Show
Published in
2 min readOct 5, 2015

Yes, Tisha Campbell is singing again. When I talk about her old hit song Push from the 80's, people a little younger than me don’t remember the song. They don’t even remember Tisha singing the song in one of the episodes of Martin. Some of the older folks don’t either. I look at them and I ask to myself, “Where have you been? As much as you looked at Martin, you ought to remember.”

When people listen to her song, “I'm Steel Here”, some of them say they need to hear the song more than once or watch the video. The video always seem to fill in where you don’t really get the meaning of songs.

For example, when I first heard Michael Jackson’s, Beat It, I didn’t like it at first. It was my first time hearing Michael sing with hard rock guitar music. However, when I saw the video, I began to like the song.

I think Tisha has the potential to make music videos the way MJ did. Things are shown so visual in her music videos. I think Tisha should try making some mini movie - music videos.

Tisha also has a great voice. She doesn’t sing the same way all of the time. Tisha is normally a loud and exclamatory type of singer. In her new song, “I’m Steel Here”, she used a softer tone to her voice. If a singer can use a different voice and sing different ways, to me, usually, that’s a talented singer.

YouTube: We’ve all seen Tisha in the many TV shows she’s starred in, but this new generation may not know that she dabbled a bit in the singing world, too. She even put out a single at one point, but took a step back to focus on her flourishing acting career. Now, the multi-talented mama is putting singing on the back burner now more … and we have her husband actor, Duane Martin to thank.

--

--