Tupac Mentioned the Billions of Dollars and People Starving

Gail Nobles_The InkPost
Lounge Show
Published in
3 min readJan 4, 2017

Photo Source: YouTube

Tupac is someone I was never interested in. When I saw him in the movie Above the Rim with Duane Martin, I was never a big fan of his. I heard his music all around me, and didn’t know that it was Tupac. As a matter of fact, I didn’t know that I liked a song feat. Tupac, Same Song. There were a few other songs I liked by Tupac, but I just didn’t know I was listening to Tupac. I don’t even remember seeing his face. Growing up, I had other things on my mind. To see the best videos, cable TV wasn’t always affordable, and I felt that I was outgrowing rap music during that time. There were so many rappers rapping, and rap was changing to me.

After a person has passed and gone, that’s when you learn more about a person. You see them on television and in magazines everyday, but you never really get to see what’s real about them. You hear about the street life, the drugs, and the trouble entertainers get into, but you never really know what their intentions are. You never hear talk of them actually reaching in their pocket to give someone money. We cannot see inside a person’s heart although he or she are sometimes wrong. Sometimes what we see isn’t always real either when it comes to the headlines and television. We only see what they want us to see, and parts of a story may be left out, but God can see it all. It’s hard for us to know what’s true anymore.

Since Tupac has been gone, I have heard him say some truthful interesting things in interviews. He mentioned how people make billions of dollars and how people are still starving. Why would Tupac mention these things? Maybe he didn’t have much growing up. Tupac had to experience something about being poor in order to speak out the way that he did. When you see him talk about these things, he seems quite serious and sincere. It sounded and looked as if Tupac wanted to make a difference. I believe that he has done right about speaking out about the poor, but how many of us are listening? How many of us heard Tupac?

Helping the poor is required of us. How many of us are listening and obeying God?

1 Timothy 6:17

Charge them that are rich in this world, that they be not highminded, nor trust in uncertain riches, but in the living God, who giveth us richly all things to enjoy.

Luke 12:21

So is he that layeth up treasure for himself, and is not rich toward God.

Deuteronomy 15:11

For the poor shall never cease out of the land: therefore I command thee, saying, Thou shalt open thine hand wide unto thy brother, to thy poor, and to thy needy, in thy land.

Tupac was young and he was learning and seeing things. He also spoke about God. Now, how much he meant the good things he said, I do not know. I’m just glad that I can watch Tupac in an interview speaking the truth about something.

“Even if you earned it, you still owe”. Tupac Shakur

--

--