What Will Jada’s Boycott Lead To?

Gail Nobles_The InkPost
Lounge Show
Published in
2 min readJan 24, 2016

--

“Jada Pinkett Smith at NY PaleyFest 2014 for Gotham” by Dominick D — https://www.flickr.com/photos/idominick/15411329798/. Licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0 via Commons — https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:Jada_Pinkett_Smith_at_NY_PaleyFest_2014_for_Gotham.jpg#/media/File:Jada_Pinkett_Smith_at_NY_PaleyFest_2014_for_Gotham.jpg

Being in the entertainment business, I’m sure Jada probably see a lot of things that many of us don’t see as fans. There is a lot of frustration in our world today in America between white and black. It always has been, and I thought things were looking better. Especially, in the entertainment world. However, things must not be because Jada and her husband Will Smith will not be showing up at the Academy Awards.

When I first saw Halle Berry win an Oscar in 2002 for best actress, I was in shock. I believed that she was a winner, but I couldn’t believe that the Oscar was given to her. Then I heard about Denzel Washington and Forrest Whitaker winning. These people did not beg for their Oscars. I believe that they earned them. They had great roles and were in great movies, and that’s what it takes to win an Oscar. I do not believe that it was because they were black actors. Their acting is not based on being black. I think that the Oscars look for more than that, and these black actors had what they were looking for.

Why didn’t Will win an Oscar? I believed that his time was going to come eventually. I heard Will say that he lost against Denzel and Forrest Whitaker. Everybody has their own opinion about who should win, but I do believe Will should have won an Oscar too.

So what will Jada’s boycott lead to along with her husband Will Smith? Jada has spoken her mind, and she is looking like a leader. Will this be the end for black actors winning Oscars? Will they not get nominated for the academy awards anymore because of rejection and boycott?

--

--