2020. An interrupted theatre year in review.

Janet Hitchen
Love a Good Play
Published in
2 min readDec 28, 2020
Photo credit: Karen Zhao. Unsplash.

Number of Plays Seen: 12 + all the NT at Home and random stuff watched in Lockdown 1.0 that I was in no mood to review + 15 Heroines + Dick Whittington.

Best New Play: Death of England. Delroy.

Best Revivial: A Christmas Carol at The Old Vic.

Biggest surprise: Dick Whittington. Who knew that panto would work à distance.

Best Actress: Lesley Manville for The Visit.

Best Actor: Michael Balogun for Death of England. Delroy.

Best Director: Matthew Warchus for creating The Old Vic In Camera series.

Best Half Time Snacks: will always be the madelines at the Bridge.

Most Read Blog: Three Kings with Andrew Scott. 925 views and still counting. Mind blown.

Special Mention: NT at Home for bringing so much joy and continuing to release their productions for free when we’re locked down.

The Play that Got Away: All the plays that were cancelled and postponed. I wish I’d seen every single one of you.

The Blog that Got Away: Jermyn St Theatre 15 Heroines. I loved all of it but I wasn’t in the mood to write reviews with all the lockdown shenanigans.

Best Theatre: all of them. I miss them all so very much. Special mention for The Bridge for being the first back after Lockdown 1.0 and having all their protocols nailed.

I have nothing in the diary for 2021 yet as London is in Tier 4 and theatres are closed. I am joining NT at Home to stream the classic productions I missed (yes, Helen McRory’s Medea) and I pray for the moment theatres reopen and I can return.

--

--

Janet Hitchen
Love a Good Play

Drink tea, eat cake, read a lot, theatre geek, slow runner, cold water swimmer, Mum to Milly, my BT, lnternal Communication strategist, French speaker