Midsummer Nights Dream

June 4, 2019. The Bridge Theatre

Janet Hitchen
Love a Good Play
2 min readJun 5, 2019

--

OMG this is a riot. An absolute joy and one of the most happy and fun nights at the theatre I’ve had in a while.

I predict this will be THE HOT TICKET FOR SUMMER.

So it’s the “easiest” Shakespeare, and they’ve snaffled a GoT survivor and all-round wonder woman and goddess Gwendoline Christie. Also the hilarious Oliver Chris (who has been in several of my favourite comedies at the NT – One Man, Two Guvnors (BTB: before this blog) and another Shakespeare: Twelfth Night.) He also does a mean pub quiz for the NT Young Patrons.))

Hytner has taken some artistic license with the text (I can hear the purists already… yawn) but the clarity of the narrative is crystal clear and I love how It feels very relevant and now. I won’t spoil it but the tweaks are brilliantly observed to maintain the modern sense of Shakespearean farce.

Hytner also surrounds himself with the best collaborators – the supremely talented Bunnie Christie’s set design and Paul Arditti’s lighting are truly fairyesque and magical. And Arlene Philips movements add to this ethereal, magical world creating the atmosphere of a summer music festival.

Special shout outs to the magnificent performances of Hammed Animashaun (Bottom) and David Moorst (Puk). Their movement and interactions with the audience had me in tears laughing. Glorious!

5/5 Summer’s hot ticket. And you will belly-laugh so much you will ache. I’m sure it is exactly what the fairies would want.

--

--

Janet Hitchen
Love a Good Play

Drink tea, eat cake, read a lot, theatre geek, slow runner, cold water swimmer, Mum to Milly, my BT, lnternal Communication strategist, French speaker