Day Light

Marie-Ange Nouroumby
Love and Light
Published in
2 min readOct 10, 2022
“Symbolism” by François Cauvin

By day, I fly.

At night, I shrink.

I sink.

I float around waiting for you to come and take me.

But you leave me stranded.

I stay high, like the tide, and you won’t dismiss me.

What is that power in me?

That defies your orders for me to freeze?

My body melts and drips

Into an ocean of nothing but your light

And for some reason, I fight.

I think?

And here is the lonely dance of staying alive when everything dies.

I am the last one waking?

And here is the tragic dance of thinking:

How can I ever fly if I cannot rest my wings?

I have run out of prayers to say.

Incense and candle light

To lure you in my way.

Moon, let me be still.

Oh, I love you.

I adore your night fire.

But you burn my body,

My eyes,

My mind,

My nights.

You roast me with sleepless stars and grind me into ashes.

Is it that two lights can’t shine side by side?

So I wait,

Patiently,

Until you retire the waves of your water light.

As the day arrives

Finally,

The sunlight comes to set me free.

I can now lay down and spread my wings,

Soaring through the rays of light of the early morning.

And be mighty.

Asleep.

--

--

Marie-Ange Nouroumby
Love and Light

“I am the story”. Senior Millennial. French Black Woman. African Immigrant First-Born Daughter.