Why Do Men Care So Much About a Woman’s Number?

And do they just suck at math, or what?!

Emma Austin
Love, Emma

--

I have a double-digit sex number. It’s in the very low double digits, sure, but if I had to type out the number of people I’ve had sex with, I’d need to do two key strokes.

I’ve always been aware that men often consider my number high, because they seem to consider any number in the double digits high.

I remember guys making comments about not wanting to date “some slut who fucked ten guys.” I’d silently count out my dalliances and realize that I fell into that category.

I’d also encounter (in conversation or even in print) men saying they wouldn’t want to be in a relationship with a woman unless she had some laughably low number of previous sexual partners.

And of course, there are all those terrible memes going around warning men not to date women who are “used goods” or warning women that promiscuous sexual activity damages them.

I never felt all that bad about my number, but I was very much aware that I was supposed to. And I knew that some people looked down on me or judged me for it.

Here’s the thing, though. My husband’s number is pretty damn close to mine, but his experience with…

--

--

Emma Austin
Love, Emma

💜 Wholesome perv with a touch of whimsy 🖤 My podcast, spicy content, and more: https://www.loveemmaaustin.com/all-my-projects