Why I Write About Sex Explicitly

No, it’s not for attention

Emma Austin
Love, Emma

--

I wanted to be a writer from a very early age. I felt a compulsion to write about my life and share those stories with others.

The only problem was, my life seemed so dull. I was a tween doing tweeny things, then a teen doing teeny things. Nothing about it felt special.

After taking a long detour through psychology, early childhood education, working as a preschool teacher, and then becoming a stay-at-home mom, I decided to finally give writing a shot.

I focused on erotica. I considered writing about my own sex life, but it still felt too mundane to be interesting. Instead, I invented women and put them in whatever scenarios my horny imagination came up with.

Then, I started mining my own sexual history for ideas. I thought about things I’ve done and places I fucked and the stories based on them came out decent. That’s when I realized that maybe, just maybe, I could branch out into blogging. That maybe my own personal life and those long, heated conversations I have with my husband about every sexual topic there is could be of interest to others.

I also worried that I wouldn’t be a good fit for the blogging world. I love reading about sex, but most of the content I came across was dry and technical.

--

--

Emma Austin
Love, Emma

💜 Wholesome perv with a touch of whimsy 🖤 My podcast, spicy content, and more: https://www.loveemmaaustin.com/all-my-projects