Is Life a Simulation? Imagining “Life Is but a Dream” Helped My Mental Health

Subjective reality

Phoenix Huber
Love Everyone

--

Photo by Melvin Vito via Pexels

FIrst off, I just want to say I think the idea of life being a simulation can be misused. When I first encountered the idea online, I saw some people were rejecting it as a self-centered, irresponsible view of the universe. However, in my case, supposing that my life might be a simulated reality has supported my mental health — without making me any less kind to others. I plan to keep exploring this fascinating point of view while trying to lead a life of service.

For those who, like me, are empathetic and have strong ethics, here is how I believe it can be helpful to imagine YOU are the one being living in a simulated universe.

Even video games make you care

To create the right mood, I want you to think of a favorite video game. Pick one in which the main character is on a mission to do good. For me, I guess I could pick the Harry Potter Lego series my sister and I used to play on Wii.

Now, you know that none of the characters in this game actually have a separate consciousness, right? The only consciousness here is YOU, the player. You aren’t even the main character, really; you’re an independent mind experiencing the game from the point of view of that…

--

--

Phoenix Huber
Love Everyone

Trans girl. Beyond-human ally. I unite with members of my species for all sentient beings. Free hug: uberpath@gmail. Feed me: Ko-fi.com/phxhu