James Edward Young
The Love Pub
Published in
3 min readJul 4, 2024

--

Henry and Co./Pexels

I NEVER WANT TO — — — -“FALL IN LOVE”

Why do people say that they “fell” in love? Falling is not a good thing. My mother fell and broke her hip. In no way did that make her life complete.
I knew a person that was on board a ship and fell while climbing a ladder and died as a result of his fall.
How can we use the word “fall” , to describe the most beautifuul wonderful feeling that a human being could ever hope to feel ?Wouldn’t it be better said to say I have risen to love, or say it so many other ways . The feeling of love is so wonderful and complicated, shouldn’t it require extra effort to express.
It would seem, on the surface, that if we fall in love, then it’s always a good thing, that it is a good thing to feel love for another human being. It’s one of the most wonderful and beautiful things about being a human being, our ability to love each other.
However, loving another human being is not always a good experience.
Our inner child doesn’t understand when love goes away from us. It’s one of our most primitive feelings and as such it raises such strong emotions and even violence sometimes from jealousy or misunderstanding .
But relationships are what they are and love is what it is. What love is to one person is not the same always to another person. Humans are not perfect beings and love is not always a good match. Maybe that’s why we describe the feeling of love as “falling”. Because a good or bad, you are in it.
Whoever started this saying may have observed that so many relationships “fall” apart for a myriad of reasons. When relationships fall apart it is so heartbreaking. I thought this may have happened to me but maybe, the Love that I feel , will come back to me, but only if I am worthy and deserving of that in some way. The only way that I know how it is to try to write beautiful things . I don’t know how to be worthy, but I’m going to work on it every day because it is so worth it. I never take relationship lightly when I find somebody that I hold dear. I have such a hard time walking away.
I have had a hard love life , and when I am deeply touched, the love that I feel sometimes develops childish reactive roots that date back to another time and place. God how ashamed I have been when I have overreacted to a painful situation that brings me back to that other time and place.
The word “love” also deserves a bit of scrutiny. Think of the greatest love of your life. It’s a life-changing feeling. It’s a desperate feeling that you are so in love with your person that you would do anything to keep them and if they left you, you feel as though you no longer want to live . . You would believe the lies because you have to, and because without them you just don’t want to live anymore.
I guess I watch way too much TV but on TV you’re likely to hear, I just “love” your shoes. I love your couch. I love the color of your car.
As human beings, we should be able to describe the feeling as beautiful and complicated as the feeling of love, with more than just one word.
We are very intelligent beings. We know how to describe things in infinite detail. Why should we dumb it down to simply say that I’m falling in love. Perhaps because it is such a universally accepted way of saying that thing.

Maybe it’s not the best way in the world to say it but it’s simple and easy and can be easily conveyed in its sincerity with the soft voice and a sincere look into the eyes of the one you love. The words “ I am falling in love with you”,
can be so beautiful even if the words and feelings are not reciprocated. It is such a wonderful thing when somebody loves you and even if it can’t be reciprocated, it should be respected and appreciated for the rare and beautiful thing that it is .

Perhaps Love

Song by

John Denver

--

--

James Edward Young
The Love Pub

I believe in honest true life stories with the thrill of life, romance and strong emotion.