James Edward Young
The Love Pub
Published in
2 min readJul 13, 2024

--

LOVE FOR SALE AT BEN FRANKLIN FIVE AND DIME

photo liberated from the web

In the local 5 and 10 cent store
Love is just the thing you buy
I saved up all my money
so I can buy you more
I gave you all of my love, Amour
from Ben Franklin 5 and dime.
I’m here to buy you more, my love
When you smile that’s my sign.
They’ll wrap it up for me to give
Since I bought up all they have
and pour it all on you my love
every lovely day I live.
I wish that I could make the love
I know that some folks can
but I will give my heart to you
and all the things I am.
If love were too expensive
and I didn’t have a crown
I work and save for what I crave
the instant you’re around.
Oh, Ben Franklin five and dime
Please don’t let me down
Don’t have a sale and sell it all
while I am not around
I will stand before you,
0h, Apple of my eye.
I don’t want to come apart
and have you see me cry.
Just standing there a poor man
without any the love to give
please don’t turn and walk away,
you’re the reason that I live.

--

--

James Edward Young
The Love Pub

I believe in honest true life stories with the thrill of life, romance and strong emotion.