POETRY ON MEDIUM

Poetic Alchemy

Imagine yourself immortalized as a poem.

Pooja Vishwanathan 🦋
The Love Pub
Published in
2 min readApr 18, 2024

--

It was through my writing that I came up with this idea. Although I have been writing poems for over a year, I had a brief idea: what if someone wrote me a poem, picturing his thoughts on my personality and bringing his work to a conclusion? Just like that, this is how things transpired.

Dangling words in the cusp of air
What if someone wrote me as a poem?
Lovingly spreading the polished ink while
Singing classic ballads and humming cues,
Filled with burning desire and attachment.

Penning down verse by verse,
I would undergo revisions until I reached perfection.
Satiating his hunger for the ultimate result,
He would complete the lines in slow motion.
Savouring and recording every moment.

Placed delicately on a crisp white sheet,
The nib won’t break until the end.
Thinking about how to proceed next,
He would caress me with love.
And kiss like a goodnight’s dream.

Free verse, rhymes, or random syllables.
Bedecking me in anything possible.
I happily absorb all of his emotions.
He loves to share everything.
Thereby picking his favourite weapon.

Treasuring me in a traditional journal,
Placed on the shelf of an old chef d’oeuvre,
I will be remembered for a long time.
And live forever in his heart, like his queen.
Running down shivers through the body.

What if someone wrote me as a poem?
He would read me again and again.
Blushing like an old-school chap,
Trembling and biting his lips sheepishly,
In hopes of impressing and hiding that awkwardness.

Bursting with joy and smiling broadly,
He would be proud of his work.
Celebrating like anything with a glass of wine.
Drinking and reciting the same lines.
Finally, bedding and keeping the sheet near his chest.

Thanks for stopping by. Don’t forget to clap, make comments, or add anything else you would like to share!😇

--

--

Pooja Vishwanathan 🦋
The Love Pub

25 || Author || Editor of The Love Pub || I live for words and my heart beats as a writer.