Love|Self Love|Superpower|Romance|

Superpower-Hopeless Romantic

Love
The Love Pub
Published in
5 min readJul 4, 2024

--

About the Superpowers you didn’t know you had.

Author, Love

SUPERPOWER: HOPELESS ROMANTIC

Google describes a “hopeless romantic” as one who has an idealistic view of love and romantic relationships. They may believe in romantic concepts like soulmates, and love at first sight, and may hope for fairytale-like happy endings. Hopeless romantics may also tend to see the positive in relationships and believe that love conquers all, even if they’ve experienced past struggles.

That hit the nail on the head for me. It is confirmed, I am a fully diagnosed hopeless romantic.

History of the words, hopeless romantic (*Google)

The description “hopeless romantic” spread as a phrase and character type in literature and literary magazines in the 1920’s and ‘30’s and was used for individuals who easily, recklessly, or repeatedly fall in love or chase after love for love’s sake, even when it’s impractical, unwise, or unseemly.

I can hear my mother saying, “What can love do for you? Does it feed you? When money is out the door, love will fly out the window. Think wisely when choosing your partner!”

Society’s description of a hopeless romantic: (*Google Reference)

A hopeless romantic is typically described as someone who believes in and seeks out romantic love, often with high ideals and expectations. They may have a strong belief in soulmates, grand gestures, and true love conquering all obstacles. It’s important to note that this term can vary in meaning from person to person and can be viewed positively or negatively depending on the situation.

How do I apply my Superpower at work?

As a recruiter for talent, I would look beyond resumes, look for the hidden gems and find talent that matches the visions of the organization, individuals that want to have an impact on other lives.

As a Human Resource representative, I would engage my employee and start forging the human relationship with new team member. Engagement will decrease turnover rates as employees have purposeful work lives.

As a co-worker. I would always be aware of what I say, that I remain respectful to others,

Personal Experiences:

Will be making a couple of confessions here. My external influence for being a hopeless romantic stems from my grandmother, Rosario, I called her Lola. My Lola had a very good life. She used to keep an eye on us kids when we got home from school each day. Lola had very many hobbies, from having a collection of orchids, to a collection of Barbara Cartland and Mills and Boone novels. She planned different activities for us when we arrived from school, from cooking her favorite meals, to reading her favorite romance novels. Yes, I was at a young age of ten when my Lola filled my thoughts with romance novels. There have been some good things that have come out of that influence. One, I was always expecting boys and men to look like the book covers on those novels too! I had fairly good looking dates. That was all they practically were, though. Good looking.

Another aspect that influenced me was the generation I was born into. This was a time after all the wars. Everyone just wanted to hold hands. Do you remember that time? Yes, any gender could hold hands back when I was growing up. I had very strict parents, we were not allowed to play with boys. There were no fences back then and you could run through the meadow and meet a boy by an oak tree. He would carve your initials on the tree and read you poetry while your head was on his lap. It was a good time growing up, as long as you made it back to the dinner table and prayed to God that your siblings did not see you kissing a boy. Your surroundings still felt safe. What I would give just to have those boring dinners with the family again.

Yes, again hopeless romantic.

As I got older, I added more to my list of expectations and standards. Why isn’t everyone all romantic? That was when I realized the hopeless romantic me was born. And now you see why I am still single.

The top ten things I still have on my list before I dive into a relationship. (Please don’t judge me! I know you have a list too!)

  1. He picks me up for the date.
  2. He opens the car door for me.
  3. He picks the restaurant.
  4. Dinner. So there is time to talk about one another.
  5. Formal. This is a personal thing of mine, goes back to my dad, etc., Always see them in their best and worst. It softens the blow if you see the worst first. You get what I mean?
  6. Long distance dates should be on FaceTime.
  7. Six months before I get serious.
  8. A hopeless romantic
  9. Handsome, good looking (Every guy is good looking, must have no. 8)
  10. Loves to cook.

Personal Thoughts:

Stigma in society has viewed being a hopeless romantic as a weakness when I was growing up, I am very proud and grateful that I have seen every gender and race expressing romantic poems on this platform and other social media platforms. There was a time when we could not show our emotions to the public.

Some people, including my exes also view this expectation as unrealistic, overly idealistic, or even naive. They think that hopeless romantics set themselves up for disappointment by expecting too much from a relationship or by believing in concepts as soulmates and fairy-tale endings. However, I believe I am a hopeless romantic.

Why?

There is always color in the grey.

There will always be romantic poems, novels and music in my life.

There will always be pain in love, such a deep hurt, and I feel human because I can feel this pain.

When you are in love, there will always be longing, yearning, and the shiver in your spine when you smell the wind and a scent that reminded you of your partner.

Butterflies are always present in your stomach when your partner approaches you.

I can feel the fresh rain when I am in love.

Love is always possible in my hopeless romantic world. I think that is considered a superpower, don’t you think? There are hearts without love in this world. Never to have ever tasted love’s pure surrender, it’s pain, its abyss.

Just to be able to appreciate passion, optimism and the emotional depth that comes with feeling these emotions are reasons why I believe being a hopeless romantic is a superpower and that we should embrace each other’s romantic ideals as long as they bring joy and fulfillment to the relationship and each other’s dreams.

I believe being a hopeless romantic is a superpower trait as it brings about other superpowers as well, you become so brave, you can weather any storm, you are on cloud 9 all day, you are euphoric, you smile for no reason, and nothing hurts you.

To all the SUPERHEROES out there who are hopeless romantics!

Just be YOU.

I promise you, once you find your soulmate, you will be living your fairytales every day of your lives.

What is your superpower?

I want to know!

--

--

Love
The Love Pub

Interconnectedness is a fundamental principle of the universe. It is referred to as "Oneness." Let's connect thru love and BE the change needed in this world.