James Edward Young
The Love Pub
Published in
2 min readJul 19, 2024

--

JIM

WHAT IS LOVE ?

What is love? Why is it so hard to define ?
As soon as you think
you know what it is,
something happens to change your mind.
It seems as though love is like a drug.
One taste consumes your heart and soul,
no matter if it hurts or feels good.
Just one hit of you , and I became someone new.
Just one taste and I became someone else.
Someone bent on possessing, no that’s not it.
Possessing you will change you and that will never do.
Perhaps touching you and kissing you
will make it seem all right,
but if that thought
is in your heart
just tell me dear tonight.
But I keep my thoughts like that,
I hold them deep inside.
If I took my thoughts out
and showed them to you,
you might run away and hide.
My heart won’t let me tell you
what I hold inside.
If you turn and walk away,
I will feel that I just died.
With no more thoughts of touching you,
no holding hands and loving you,
like a child with an injured pride.
No, I keep all that emotion to myself
just as long as I possibly can.
Something-anything- it seems, to satisfy
that craving that my heart demands.
That is, it’s more like a cat that is
clawing and ripping your favorite couch
The road rash on my heart
will not heal and even time will not stop the feel.
Love is an energy that has no direction.
It’s confusing and you have no control.
You’re so mixed up inside. You fight sleep
just to keep the energy alive.
Food holds no attraction other than
I must stay healthy for you.
I want your eyes to be pleased to see me,
not disappointed or frightened of what you see.
I can’t get enough of your own
special type of sweet love and affection,
all I ever think about is getting more.
It started the moment I met you.
I kept wanting more of your time.
I plot and plan and scheme and steal.
Friends see my odd behavior,
some say hey, what’s the deal ?
I just tell them don’t pay me no never mind.
You’d be this way too
if someone as wonderful as you
mirrored back the words.
Those magical words
more precious than diamonds
Those words are,”I love you too”
from an honest and sincere soul.
The precious words would move me like a tidal wave
just because the words came from you.

--

--

James Edward Young
The Love Pub

I believe in honest true life stories with the thrill of life, romance and strong emotion.