If not me then who? The opportunity to lead change is now.

Amy Materka
Prototype Life
Published in
2 min readFeb 13, 2024
Dall-e generated “Surrealist digital art image of a female head with a labyrinth inside turning into a garden”.

About a year ago, I interviewed half a dozen independent federal candidates to the Australia parliament (most of them women) that were unsuccessful, to see what support they might need to get over the line in the next election to progress action on climate change.

Without exception, each person I spoke to had a story about why they had chosen to stand as an independent candidate that was connected to an experience of painful climate inaction, which at its core was, “if I don’t take a stand now, in my community, who else will take a stand?” In other words, “If not me, then who?”.

This experience has stayed with me and is integrated as a core component of the mindset that I believe is needed to be an effective leader of systemic change. Doing the work of living with this level of personal responsibility as a leader is core to the work I do with my clients, and myself.

Transformations are guaranteed to fail to make progress if leaders bring the corporate blame game.

In contrast, effective executives will take a stance of being 100% responsible for leading the change that is required.

In order to do that, conversations on roles and accountabilities needs to be elevated and recognition given to the reality that the vast majority of work in large scale change requires active collaboration, and fluid roles. This sophisticated exploration of role and accountability is part of the work of the leader taking responsibility for leading the change.

And in the spirit of “all change is personal, and starts with me,” I have also asked myself, “if not me then who?”.

What change needs to start with me?

Right now, the corporate world needs to accelerate progress on innovation, sustainability and inclusion. In order to get this done, we need to level up on “change leadership.”

In answering this call, I have brought together and distilled all I have learnt from two decades driving transformational change, my experience as a Visiting Professor at the Berlin School of Leadership, and a learning coach at INSEAD, into a leadership program to show leaders of corporate transformation how to accelerate their impact by harnessing the personal growth opportunity that leading change offers.

I am on a mission to start a movement of courageous leaders of change who are also answering their call.

So, what change needs to start with you?

Comment below. DM me if want to learn more.

--

--

Amy Materka
Prototype Life

On a mission to develop the leaders we need to accelerate the transition to a sustainable and inclusive economy.