Gray Miller
Love. Life. Practice.
1 min readNov 1, 2019

--

Allow me to translate that from ManSpeak: “I don’t actually know how I would have felt, because I am not you and it didn’t happen to me, so I’m going to cop out on trying to actually consider your question by taking refuge in the toxic masculinity that has been socialized into me. Specifically, I would imagine that I would refuse to consciously examine my feelings and instead bottle them up where they can manifest in other arbitrarily destructive behavior that will confuse and hurt both myself and others.

I’m sorry you were faced with this. Thank you for continuing to do the brave work of examining and sharing it.

--

--

Gray Miller
Love. Life. Practice.

Gray is a former Marine dancer grandpa visualist who writes to help adults figure out what they want to be when they grow up.