love is more resilient than we know

Tough Love

Gray Miller
Love. Life. Practice.
1 min readJul 11, 2014

--

…unconditional love? Stop telling that story.
Courtney A. Walsh, “Dear Human”

There won’t be much to this post, because first, I’m driving across the country to give a talk in Akron, OH, the land of two of my heroes: Brad Warner, author of Hardcore Zen, and also David “Chuck” Jones, a former marine buddy of mine with whom I defended the beaches of Southern California from the imminent threat of Communisim.

Successfully, I might add.

Second, I really think that everything I hoped to say is said in that poem above, so I’m hoping you’ll take the time that would have been spent reading the next 800+ words reading that poem slowly. Reading it out loud. It speaks truth in the way that only good poems can.

And the Too Long; Didn’t Read version is: stop worrying about whether or not you’re loving “right” or “wrong.” Love is tough; it will be there, and keep coming back in some form, no matter how many mistakes you make. The key is that you try,

That you shine and fly and laugh and cry
and hurt and heal and fall and get back up
and play and work and live and die as YOU.
It’s enough. It’s Plenty.

--

--

Gray Miller
Love. Life. Practice.

Gray is a former Marine dancer grandpa visualist who writes to help adults figure out what they want to be when they grow up.