Why We Should All Be Old Cat Ladies

True story

Sara Taki
LOVE LOVE LOVE

--

By Author

Perhaps you have an elderly living in the neighborhood. You know, that lady we usually refer to as The old cat lady next door.

She owns or looks after at least 12 cats, her hair is grey, and you can tell she hasn’t used a comb for a while. She often smiles for no reason, which allows you to notice the two teeth missing. She’s a bit tinny because her back keeps hunching, and everyone gets weird around her.

I have my old cat lady next door too.

When I say good morning to her, sometimes she says it back, sometimes she laughs with my little one, and other days she stares motionless. I wonder whether she’s not in a good mood, or is it just her hearing failing her to socialize? I guess I’ll never know!

But there are other things I know about her.

My old cat lady makes the world a better place, and she doesn’t get enough credit for it!

Here’s why.

Compassion

Who feeds 12 cats day in and day out?

My lady cares about 12 things besides herself. I know life can be overwhelming with family responsibilities, stressful work, financial issues, traffic jams, and even social media. But does it mean it’s ok not to care for others?

--

--

Sara Taki
LOVE LOVE LOVE

Creator & blogger. Sharing inner thoughts and states of mind, tackling tips, and following intuits. sarataki.blog@gmail.com