San Juan Island, Washington

A Thank You Letter to Public Lands

Cameron Lyons is a law student at the University of Louisville Brandeis School of Law and a public lands law intern at the National Wildlife Federation.

They say you should “give ’em their flowers while they can still smell ’em” — to appreciate what you have before it’s gone. Despite giving me so much over the years, I don’t think I’ve ever taken a moment to thank you for all you’ve done. So, here’s to you, public lands, because without you, I wouldn’t have so many amazing memories!

For years, you’ve provided me with wonderful experiences: fishing trips with family and friends, hiking excursions in the middle of the week to relieve stress, beach getaways to beat the heat, and so much more. I still remember the time a close friend and I spent the day hiking near the town of Friday Harbor on San Juan Island off the coast of Washington. It was a cool 55 degrees and cloudy. The forecast called for rain, and we almost turned back. Instead, we pressed forward. When we reached the summit and looked out over the water, there wasn’t a storm cloud in sight. Just soft, white clouds billowing over the channel. Time stopped, and every care in the world washed away with each wave that crashed ashore.

Or the time that a group of friends and I went camping in Red River Gorge in Kentucky. There was a total of seven of us. Only a few of us had been camping before, but we were all confident that things would be ok. That is until night fell. Though beautiful, the sounds we heard the first night were terrifying. Continuously, we heard branches breaking all around us. We were certain it was a bear. As the four of us in my tent prepped for our demise, the sounds drew closer. When they stopped, we peeped out the window. Turns out, one of our friends had gone for an evening stroll to find a bathroom. Safe to say we had quite the laugh the following morning.

Then, in 2020, things changed. No longer were my adventures filled with endless laughter over youth and absurdity, mishaps, or good fortune. Instead, they became quiet and intimate. COVID shook things up and separated everyone. I looked to you, public lands, for comfort and stability. And like always, you provided.

Even though I was no longer surrounded by friends and family on excursions, they were no less beautiful. COVID certainly brought immense heartache, but it helped me discover new treasures, like Charlestown State Park. The luscious, green trails; numerous rivers, creeks, and waterfalls; and vibrant wildlife helped put my mind at ease during a time packed with anxiety. It provided countless hours of exploration for my girlfriend, our dog, and me.

So again, public lands, I can’t thank, or appreciate you enough. Over the years, you’ve provided me with more than I could ever give you in return. Our connection is one that will never fade away. You’ve always held a dear place in my heart, and hopefully one day I can repay you.

…………………………………………………………………………………….
So many of our country’s parks and public lands written about in these love notes would not exist but for the Land and Water Conservation Fund (LWCF). This important conservation program was permanently funded when Congress passed the Great American Outdoors Act last year. You can learn more about the Land and Water Conservation Fund here.

Would you like to write about public lands that you cherish? Please email Mary Jo Brooks at brooksm@nwf.org for guidelines. You’ll get this cool sticker as a thank you.

--

--

National Wildlife Federation — Our Public Lands
Love Notes To Public Lands

The National Wildlife Federation public lands program advocates for our public lands and waters, wildlife and the right of every American to enjoy them.