How Do I Love Thee? Let Me Count The Ways

Anne Jolliff lives in Montana City, MT with her husband, triplets, and dogs. She enjoys the outdoors, teaching, and advocating for wild spaces.

To channel Elizabeth Barrett Browning, “How do I love thee? Let me count the ways.”

I love the way your landscape changes, beaten by the wind and water. You do not cease to exist, you only change and flourish. This is a lesson we all must learn, eventually.

I love the meaning you create, give, and foster. The family relationships that are strengthened or built are a gift of time and memory that cannot be erased.

I love the way the wild critters roam across your prairies, mountains, and waters. The adventures I’ve had chasing these animals nourish my body and soul.

I love the opportunities you present. The countless times I have found strength, forgiveness, passion, and belonging in your presence have fortified my mental wellness.

Like the winds and water that created your landscape, you shaped my life. The experiences I have had within your boundaries will never leave my memories. I have learned to love and let go while sauntering in nature. What public lands provide, I cannot reciprocate, but I will try my damnedest to keep it preserved and safe so others may experience the wonders and healing within.

…………………………………………………………………………………….

Would you like to write about public lands that you cherish? Please email Mary Jo Brooks at brooksm@nwf.org for guidelines. You’ll get a cool “public lands lover” sticker as a thank you.

--

--

National Wildlife Federation — Our Public Lands
Love Notes To Public Lands

The National Wildlife Federation public lands program advocates for our public lands and waters, wildlife and the right of every American to enjoy them.