Let Me Love You

Dillan DiGiovanni, CIHC, MEd.
Love Story
Published in
2 min readAug 25, 2015

Let me be the one you choose|who chooses me.

Overcome your lifelong habits and patterns that you’re battling (and have battled) right now in this instant so I can be the knight in shining armor (or plaid?) who sweeps you off your feet. So I can fulfill all those idealistic fantasies (we’ve) been nurturing to avoid having to be honest about how terrified (we) are to be loved.

Let me (not) forget the things I’m not addressing in myself or the ways I avoid being present to my own issues, habits and behaviors, so I can focus all my time and energy on making you happy (so we can both feel wanted and needed or at least tell people we do).

Let me perpetuate and emulate all the weird things people share that they do/think/say/feel on social media (the barometer of bullshit) so I can feel like I’m doing it right. So we will like we fit in with everyone else.

Or, not.

I want to love you/be loved as a verb.

When I see you as you are|I am, a magnificant mixture of pretense, facade and authentic, vulnerable imperfection.

Let’s instead talk about love. Let’s put it out there in the open and share how weird, awkward and incredibly painful it can be to be a human being. Because we can’t be the only ones feeling this way, right? Let’s read All About Love: New Visions by bell hooks and share specific ways we apply those chapters to past|present experiences with former friends and lovers.

Let me press pause and name this shit and feel the discomfort. Can you feel it? Would you let yourself?

Let me hold your shoulders and tell you that I think you’re great even while you’re looking away and making up a million excuses so you don’t have to listen.

Let me feel the frustration in how you mirror how many days and ways I do that, too.

Let me

Let you

Can I let you? Can I let me?

It’s all the same thing, isn’t it?

--

--

Dillan DiGiovanni, CIHC, MEd.
Love Story

Certified educator and integrative health coach. Constant work in progress.