The Charming Devil: How Vulnerable Narcissism Can Destroy You

Wesley Owens
Love. The Magazine.

--

I thought I was with the sweetest girl I’d ever met

A week after our breakup, I broke into tears. In my mind, I had just lost the sweetest person I’d ever had the chance to date. I know it’s crazy, but it felt like I’d just lost my one opportunity to be with someone fun, wholesome, and altogether lovely.

I wanted to get back together with her. The way it all went down made me feel like I had disappointed her, and if only I could show her how much I cared for and appreciated her, we could reconcile and live a beautiful and wonderful life together.

My mind went back to so many things. I could have visited more, I could have told her I missed her more and that I couldn’t wait to see her. I could have initiated more, or told her I wanted to be serious earlier.

This was all precipitated by a breakup where she said she didn’t feel emotionally supported and told me she gave and initiated too much. She didn’t directly say anything I did wrong, instead making overarching claims that made me feel like I was letting her down.

Rewind five months, and we were in bed talking about our relationship. We had known each other for less than a month, and had spent a week together of time together in person. She told me that she only believed in monogamy and…

--

--