Beholding The Fractures Within

Kintsugi dairy — 1

Mark Raja
love what you make
2 min readSep 13, 2024

--

© Tokyo Kintsugi Workshop TSUGUTSUGU

I had the privilege of participating in a Kintsugi workshop facilitated by Makoto Fujimura. As the one organising, I, as usual, was preoccupied with logistics, ensuring everyone got their material, joined the workshop on time etc. So sadly I did not immerse myself in the process, though I was fully present during the session. This happened for the second workshop as well.

While preparing for another one, though I was still organising, I intentionally took time to contemplate the process. I truly wanted to make sense of it because there is no point in organising it without personally being impacted.

One of the initial steps in this workshop is to behold the broken ceramic pieces. By the way, each one is supposed to bring a fractured ceramic object to mend in the workshop. Once we place the pieces in front of us on the table we are asked to look at the pieces before we even think about mending.

In the workshop, Makoto asked us to pay attention to the fractures, cracks and broken pieces of the vessel. Grieving the trauma done to the vessel and recognising the value of the vessel as it is.

So when I was contemplating, I asked myself. What are these fractures in me? Nothing particular came to mind. Maybe they got healed or I have a poor memory. It is natural to look for the fractures caused by others upon us, but for some reason that did not occur to me. But I came to see the fractures I caused to others. That made me feel broken.

Even though I try to constantly deal with my vices as I seek to follow Christ who was also broken on the cross, to offer his grace and forgiveness to all who seek, yet, to know that these fractures can turn beautiful in the hands of a Kintsugi master brought me joy and beauty.

As Makoto said, beholding allows us to see a landscape through those fractures, cracks and broken pieces and helps us imagine the oncoming beauty. How the vessel may be transformed into a more beautiful and more valuable vessel. Beholding, grieving, and loving in hope could lead us to beauty.

This is not a mere imagination, it is transcendental if you believe. It is God who pours out beauty and healing and helps us reconcile and experience peace. Isn’t it comforting that this lasting healing is possible?

Now when I get a chance to participate in another Kintsugi workshop I would behold these fractures with prayer that it brings healing and beauty in the brokenness caused by me or for that matter to all the brokenness I see around me.

The journey is not complete yet. More Kintsugi stories to follow in this series. Do check it out.

--

--

Mark Raja
love what you make

I mostly write to clarify my understanding. You will find my articles on themes like beauty, faith, hope, culture, and common good.