I Met Matthew Hussey In Person. I’m Glad I Didn’t Take His Advice.

I wouldn’t be getting married now!

Ellen Nguyen
Loveful Mind
Published in
4 min readAug 18, 2021

--

I met Matthew Hussey at a live event in 2018

One of my most popular articles is about the dating approach that will get you a quality, long-lasting relationship.

It definitely worked for me. At the time of publishing that article, I was in a healthy, happy relationship, reflecting on the steps I took to get there. A few months later, I was proposed to. And now I’m enjoying the blissful months leading to our wedding day. I’m very much in love and happy.

I remember why that article or that dating approach felt so transformative to me.

It’s because it centers the woman — me.

In the past, I was one of those women who followed the likes of Matthew Hussey.

Back then he wasn’t as much of a celebrity as he is now; he actually showed up at his live events. When I saw the ad for his London one, I asked a friend, who also watched Hussey, to go with me.

It wasn’t a life-altering experience, but I remember being impressed with his performance on stage. He was very well-spoken and handled the all-female audience well. I got a photo with him but never actually posted it anywhere because it felt more like something amusing to laugh with a friend about than…

--

--

Ellen Nguyen
Loveful Mind

Freelance writer & digital creator | London based | Psychology BSc. Editor of LovefulMind.com, empowering women.