I Am Not Scared of Talking to Men Over the Phone Anymore

I have gained control over my heart.

Alexia Dominique Reyes
Lover Bites
2 min readJun 13, 2024

--

Photo by Andy Vult on Unsplash

I have been looking for new clients, and most want to hop on a call with me. I want clients because I need money, so I have no other choice but to agree on that. Video is not required, but I always turn my camera on.

I was scared of talking to men over the phone because I have been single since 2010, so even a slight exposure to masculinity had an effect on me. But lately, I have been feeling nothing. My emotional unavailability is why.

I don’t see men, specifically single men around my age, as potential romantic partners anymore. And I am happy. It means I finally have a stronger hold of my heart, and I can’t be swayed so easily by words.

Unlike before. I realized that maybe I shouldn’t hate him for lying. I should hate myself for believing and trusting — and then loving. Maybe it was my fault after all that I have a broken heart now.

--

--

Alexia Dominique Reyes
Lover Bites

I write about languages and cultures, plus some random stories about my life. Work with me? alexiadocare@gmail.com