I Should Have Been Preparing for the Bar Exams

I thought that at 27, I would have a law degree.

Alexia Dominique Reyes
Lover Bites
2 min readJun 30, 2024

--

Photo by Elena Mozhvilo on Unsplash

When I finished my pre-law bachelor’s degree in 2017, I started envisioning my future: “I will work for a few years to save money for law school. I will ensure not to fail any subjects to obtain a law degree at 27.”

In September of 2019, I passed the Philippine Law School Admission Test. I was already unsure whether to pursue law at the time, but the eligibility would expire in two years, so I had two years to decide.

2021 came, and I had a good-paying job where I did what I love doing, which is writing — and other creative stuff. I thought, “Why will I stress myself out on purpose when I already am earning more than enough?”

So, it expired. I decided not to pursue law.

--

--

Alexia Dominique Reyes
Lover Bites

I write about languages and cultures, plus some random stories about my life. Work with me? alexiadocare@gmail.com